which pickups for a strat?

16 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
 ss43
(@ss43)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hey - any suggestions based on experience appreciated. I am looking to change the pickups in a US standard strat (2006 model). The stockp/ups are too thin, too much ear piercing treble, and just overall lacking - I've heard better. I play blues, classic rock, and hard rock. I like to hear all the strings/notes with authority and growl during high gain power cords. I like smooth articulate leads with a woody tone (john Mayer). I do not like twang.

I have looked into Kinmans (woodstocks), Rio Grandes (big bottoms), and Bare knuckles (irish tours or mother's milk). I have no experience with these. If anyone does or can following what I am looking for please respond. I play through tubes amps - Orange and Kustom.

Thanks

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

You may not need to change the pups. Are you using a booster pedal -- tube screamer or similar? This will usually help thicken the tone quite a bit. The other thing to try before swapping pups is an EQ pedal.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
 ss43
(@ss43)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Yep - I go between a digitech bad monkey and a modded TS9 (w/better base response), also an EH small clone chorus, all of which thinken things nicely.

But it seems like things could be opened up more, a bit more bottom, with more of a throaty tone and less harshness when digging in.

I have never tried an EQ pedal. I have always been afraid of tone suckers and the less I have between me axe and me speakers the better. I mean, one of the reasons I got an Orange TT was because it only has three knobs (vol/gain/tone). But it seems like a lot of people have good results with EQ pedals.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member