Notifications
Clear all

Why is the Mac Better than the PC?

48 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@stormymonday)
Reputable Member

By the way, to anyone who thinks that Macs are "immune" from crashes, hangs, freezing up, losing data, etc: you are wrong. It is a more stable OS than Windows, but it does have its bugs and glitches which can end up in a complete reinstall situation...

Well, yes of course, anything designed by imperfect man will be imperfect. Macs aren't immune to viruses or crashes, but they're much more rare than on any Windows platform. There have been and are viruses for the Mac, but I've been using Macs for at least 10 years and have never had a single virus. I haven't heard of many situations that call for complete reinstalls either. OS X is solid as a rock. Since I've been using OS X (the last 3 years or so) I can't remember many instances at all where I've had to restart due to some sort of system failure. The only time I ever restart is after installing something that requires a restart. Windows to me has always been way too unstable and unsecure, that a Mac (or Linux for that matter) is the way to go. Basically anything except Windows.

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Another point is that POSIX, BSD and LINUX are all very close to open source (certainly open specification) - i.e. the way in which I/O is handled is free for everyone to see, it's laid down in a detailed specification.
The number of people, who have access to that spec. is huge - any weaknesses are going to be found in a fairly short space of time. Reports will be written, meetings will be held and a new spec. agreed.