your partner , how do they deal with you playing guitar

49 Posts
40 Users
0 Likes
12.9 K Views
(@azertyuiop201)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

i'm fairly new to the guitar obsession , but I've been skateboarding for almost 10years and it can be compared to guitar as being something you love doing and spent days with.

When it's all sunny and bleu skies I can't help but rather go outside with friends having great time skateboarding , same with guitar .. I just love being home all afternoon on a raindy day playing guitar.

But yea , it's not easy in relationships having such obsessions(?). My girlfriend hates it when I pick up my guitar while all my intentions are just to show her of what I've learned or to ask if she recognize some stuff I play. She just looks away and doesn't even want to listen. All my other friends , they at least show interest or listen when I try or play some of the melodies of the songs they love , they support me ..while my girlfriend absolutely doesn't. She just want me to be in her arms all day , okay I do that and love that but there's something that drives me away at times : I want to do things , learn stuff , go skate on sunny beautifull skies , learn guitar , etc..

I guess we just expect different things in a relationship or want to live our lifes differently :?

anyway , maybe I typed too much .. back to the topic :

If you have a partner , how do they stand against it that you play guitar ? Do they support you or rather stay away from it , got any stories to tell about this subject?

(@aaronj)
Eminent Member

My wife used to be sort of like that about the guitar, but I think it was because I tend to get into a ton of different hobbies then get disinterested after a short time. After almost a year of playing guitar though, she has become much more supportive about the whole thing. She even suggested I take lessons if I wanted (which is kind of a luxury thing for us).

Get Spotted Now!
www.InstantSpot.com

AJLCOM

ReplyQuote
(@hawken)