Clear all

A different sort of buzzing

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@roverpig)
Topic starter  

Hi All,

First off, I'm pretty new to this game, only been playing a couple of months, so maybe what I'm reporting is normal. Still, here goes.

I've got a Squier Affinity Fat Strat, which I bought to learn how to play and to learn a bit more about how guitars work (i.e. to fiddle with). I've also got the "How to Make Your Electric Guitar Play Great" by Dan Erlewine, which is a mine of information. However, I have a slight buzzing issue that bothers me. Basically, I need to fret the bottom two or three strings very hard and/or close to the fret or they buzz. As I say, this could be normal and just due to my poor technique, but it does seem that I'm having to press too hard.

The neck looks absolutely straight. In fact quality control on general seems pretty amazing for such a cheap guitar. I've put a tiny bit of relief into the neck (just see daylight in the middle if I fret at both ends), which helped a little compared with dead straight, which is how it was set up when I got it. Lowering the action is the most help. I've got it down to around 2/32 with no buzzing on open strings, which seems as good as I can get, but I still need to fret pretty hard to stop the low strings buzzing. Note that raising the action makes the problem much worse.

I think there are two options here:

1. I just need to learn to play (most likely)
2. The frets are too low/flat. They don't seem very heigh to me, despite being advertised as medium jumbo.

I'm also going to look more are the nut height, but that did look OK to me.

Anyway, just wondered if anybody had any experience of this or any thoughts.

Cheers,

Andy

(@moonrider)
Noble Member

Basically, I need to fret the bottom two or three strings very hard and/or close to the fret or they buzz.