Notifications
Clear all

Build a Guitar Kit

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@desade)
Topic starter  

I'm new to this sight, and fairly new to the beauty of the guitar(again). I suppose I've been playing off an on for 7 years, and now I'm craving new gear. New extremely cheap gear that will be fun.

I found this on Ebay, yes, its extremely cheap,
and I'm sure the "snap together electronics" don't sound too well..

But can anyone tell me from expierence or from thought just how bad this will be?

If this link doesn't work, I typed in "build guitar kit" on Ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/SAGA-TC-10-Build-Your-Own-Tel-GUITAR-KIT-w-Pickups_W0QQitemZ150296535716QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuitar_Accessories?hash=item150296535716&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1424%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318

(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

I'm new to this sight, and fairly new to the beauty of the guitar(again). I suppose I've been playing off an on for 7 years, and now I'm craving new gear. New extremely cheap gear that will be fun.

I found this on Ebay, yes, its extremely cheap,
and I'm sure the "snap together electronics" don't sound too well..

But can anyone tell me from expierence or from thought just how bad this will be?

If this link doesn't work, I typed in "build guitar kit" on Ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/SAGA-TC-10-Build-Your-Own-Tel-GUITAR-KIT-w-Pickups_W0QQitemZ150296535716QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuitar_Accessories?hash=item150296535716&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1424%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318
There's nothing saying you would have to keep those electronics in it after you tried them for a while.
A quick trip to Guitarfetish could land you a replacement set of pickups or otherparts if you didn't like what came with the kit.

As long as the neck and fretboard aren't horrible, someone who is good with tools should be able to build the kit into a reasonable guitar. Maybe not an amazing guitar, but reasonable.