Buzzing on the low E string

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

I have an Ovation acoustic/electric which has been playing great for a few months now, but just last night it started making a buzzing noise. I play it unplugged (no amp yet) and its only when I play the low E string. The buzz sounds like it is coming from the nut (I believe its called, the peice that holds the strings in place near the head of the guitar.

Any ideas or suggestions are welcomed.

Geoo

“The hardest thing in life is to know which bridge to cross and which to burn” - David Russell (Scottish classical Guitarist. b.1942)

(@chris-c)
Famed Member

I'm not an expert on buzzing nuts but there's a couple of things that I'd try while I was waiting for someone else to reply.

First thing I'd try would be to play the string on different frets all down the neck and try and see if the buzzing really was coming from the nut or a fret. It could be due to a bit of general settling of the neck, action, etc and just require a small adjustment. Maybe you could also get somebody to rest a finger on the nut while you play a few notes and see if that stopped the buzz.

If it did look like it was coming from the nut then I'd try reseating the string. In other words slackening it right off, lifting it out of the groove for a moment, and then retightening and re-tuning.

If that didn't work I'd wait for someone to post here who actually knows what they're talking about and could suggest possible remedies. :wink:

ReplyQuote
(@josephlefty)
Reputable Member

Sometimes we create our own buzzing by going to a smaller size string that fits lower in the groove of the nut and closer to the first fret bar or two.

I think I just did that! :shock:

If it was easy it wouldn't be worth doing.

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member
Topic starter