Skip to content
BUZZZ, ground wire ...

Notifications
Clear all

BUZZZ, ground wire problem, or broken tone circuit?

13 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@artguitarhendsbee)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

My guitar has a buzz. it is eliminated when i touch the grouynd wire to myself, i have tried to ground it to every piece of anything onmy guitar. the buzz goues away(even with the ground wire unattached) if the tone circuit is turned off. there are two 4 wire humbuckers both wired to be coiltapped. There is only one tone knob. I amvery confused, as when i bough the guitar the wire was soldered to the metal where the springs connect ni the back fo the guitar, i tried re soldering it there ( it came loose) and now noluck. (i tried sanding the meatl surface to get a clean connection too, also no luck.

(@jim182)
Eminent Member

i'm just a guitar electronics beginner myself, but heres my thoughts.

first, how do you turn off the tone circuit? is there a switch? do you get the same effect with the tone knob in either direction? With a tone nob at full, the circuit should be completely cut. full tone == no tone trimming. with the tone at its lowest, the circuit is full closed.

With the tone circuit turned off, where does the other circuit ground to? try putting the tone ground to the ground in the main circuit directly, join them.

However, without more information it is difficult to help too much :)

Jim

ReplyQuote
(@artguitarhendsbee)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

thanks, thats what imeant, when the tone knob is turned so there is 100% resistance (fullclosed) i do not get the buzzz at all, but assoon as that tone circuit gets turned on atall the buzzing gets worse and worse untill the full open position.

ReplyQuote
(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

My guitar has a buzz. it is eliminated when i touch the ground wire to myself,

:!: Not a good idea. Doesn't take much electrical current to stop a heart.