Notifications
Clear all

Can't tune, Won't tune

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@sadbuttrue)
Topic starter  

I have just bought a Peavey Generation EXP custom. Lovely guitar, but I have had it now for a month and it simply refuses to stay in tune. I am not a novice, I do a bit of gigging and each time I have tried to use it live it has had to go back in the box as it sounds awful. The strings have been twanged, thrashed and pulled and are way past any bedding in of new strings.. What is more disconcerting is that it never actually seems to get into tune, never mind stay there. Tune it, it sounds okayish, play a few barre chords, sounds okayish, pick across an open chord and its all over the place. Is there any 'set up' reason why a guitar will not consistently tune up or vary so much from strum to strum? I have never come across anything like this.

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Have a look at the ends of the tuning knobs - not the mechanism, the knob. Many tuners have a small screw, set into the end of the knob. If there is, just tighten it until the guitar stays in tune - it shouldn't take much and it shouldn't need over tightening. If it still refuses to stay in tune, you may have to take it to a tech.
This is, of course, assuming that you're not swinging on the vibrato arm like King Kong from the Empire State building!

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

ReplyQuote
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

Also don't rule out the nut seats being too high. Check the string height at the 1st fret wire by lightly fretting each string at the 3rd fret. There should be around 5 thousandths between the bottom of the string and the top of the fret wire. If it is significantly more than that it will need to be adjusted by filing the seats lower.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@axe_junkie33)