(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Looks great -- nice job!

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@slothrob)
Reputable Member

Beautiful!
The color is close enough to a butterscotch to look very appropriate for a Telecaster.

ReplyQuote
(@97reb)
Noble Member

Definitely nice :!: If it plays as nicely at it looks and for the money you have invested in it, well then :twisted:

It is a small world for metal fanatics. I welcome you fellow musicians, especially the metalheads!

ReplyQuote
(@sinister_hack)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thanks guys. I was happy to stop staining once I realized that the color I had was pretty close to a stock tele color. Especially when I knew it was going to be something like three more days of staining to get the dark color I initially wanted ;)

AS a newbie I still don't really know how well it plays. Its my first electric though so compared to the fender acoustic its a dream to play. Low action is nice. Plus, its allowed me to learn how to completely set up an electric which is pretty valuable in my book. I think I've gotten every penny of my $56 out of it :D

ReplyQuote
(@demoetc)
Noble Member

That is AMAZING!!!!

Cudos man!!

ReplyQuote
(@mikey)
Reputable Member

Most stains are nothing more than a colored pigment suspended in solution. When you mixe your can of Minwax with a stick the pigment is that gooey stuff on the bottom. The pigment lodges itself in the grain of the wood. You slather it on, wait a few minutes and then wipe off the excess. The longer you wait the darker it becomes because more pigment falls and lodges in to the grain.