Notifications
Clear all

Epi LP pickup / switch woes

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@tonedepear)
Topic starter  

Afternoon all. Firstly, let me apologise for taking up all your time with what is probably a silly question. I am a super-noob here, and I feel a bit guilty for just turning up and asking for help without being a part of the community first. Give and take and all that. I HAVE had a search around and can't find anything that really helps someone with as little idea as me! Anyway, I'm boring you already, so I'll get on.

I have an Epiphone LP Special (that's the cheap, cacky one). It has 2 pickups, one volume control knob, one tone control knob, and a three way switch which I take to be treble, both, bass. (Or Pickup1, both, pickup2).

Since starting playing properly again it seems that I only have the bass pickup. When I have the switch to bass (or rhythm, or whatever it says), I get a nice full sound, in the middle, I get the same, and when it's set to treble I get nothing. So there's obviously an issue there. Now, the switches on these things are fairly notorious for being rubbish. As are the contol knob thingies. So I'm expecting it to be an issue with them.

Now here's my noob-ness showing - where do I start. I've not had a look in the back yet cos I'm at work all day, so it may be obvious when I do that there's a wire hanging loose or something, but how can I eliminate things and work out where the actual problem lies?

Any top tips or links or anything would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Tone

(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Start by taking the cover off switch compartment and check for loose wires or dirt on the switch.
As you so rightly say, the switch seems to be notorious for causing problems, even in relatively new instruments. If you're handy with a solderig iron, it's probably worth the few dollars to put a Switchcraft switch in, rather than spend time nursing the original.

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.