Clear all

High Notes Cut Short on Brand New Guitar

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@sabbathstevie)
Topic starter  

Hi all,

First post from a newbie here so please excuse my unfamiliarity with the forums - I've tried searching for this topic but couldn't find anything similar.

I recently had a custom guitar built for me - almost an exact replica of a Gibson SG but with custom woods (e.g. Spalted Beech top) that I couldn't find on any on the market. The dimensions, bridge setup etc are all as they would be on a standard Gibson SG.

The problem stems from the high notes on the neck - anything past the 12th fret really. They aren't sounding correctly or as easily as I would like. The action is similar to that on my old Epi SG and I have no such problems with that one. I wouldn't say there's any buzz as such, the notes just aren't as clear as I would like and seem to require more force to sound - particularly when tapping. I didn't expect that - the pickups on my new axe are far more powerful than my old ones (Bare Knuckles vs standard Epi pickups) so I would have expected if anything such notes to be easier to produce. Similarly, bends high up the neck seem prone to cutting out.

I've checked the tuning and intonation (i.e. 12th fret harmonics vs open strings) and all seems in good order...which is about the limit of my knowledge. My luthier lives too far away for me to be able to just take it back to him, but he is relatively successful and runs a guitar building course so I'm confident he knows his stuff. He says the guitar, being brand new, may take some time to "play in".

Does anyone have any thoughts which might help? Any tips or insight would be gratefully appreciated.

(@moonrider)
Noble Member

Hi all,
I didn't expect that - the pickups on my new axe are far more powerful than my old ones (Bare Knuckles vs standard Epi pickups) so I would have expected if anything such notes to be easier to produce. Similarly, bends high up the neck seem prone to cutting out.