Notifications
Clear all

How do I know what strings to buy?

11 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@cerbreus)
Topic starter  

I'm new at guitar and I need new strings for my hand me down guitar but I don't know what kind to get. I have an eltric guitar but I don't know what kind.

(@alangreen)

We get this one a lot round here. Ask 20 different people what strings to get and you'll get 45 different replies.

Start with something inexpensive as you're just starting out, and your guitar will probably be set up for 10 or 11 gauge strings (the thickness of the top E or thinnest string in the set) so get either of those. You can start experimenting with different brands and setups later.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@cerbreus)
Topic starter  

Thanks

ReplyQuote
 Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member

Try lots!

Strings are pretty personal, and no two people like exactly the same thing, as the previous poster mentioned. Over time you'll work out what you're into.

I'd probably take your guitar to the local music store, the first time. Even though you might as well change the strings yourself, they can probably have a look and tell you what gauge you're set up for.
For now, and for a while, I'd buy a different kind each time you change strings, and see what you like.

Alternatively, buy D'Addario tens. :-) (As we said, everybody has their fave- those are mine.)

Best,
Ande

ReplyQuote
(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

My favorite strings? Cheap strings!

"A cheerful heart is good medicine."

ReplyQuote
(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

While you are experimenting, keep in mind that some stores put some brands of string on sale from time-to-time.
And some stores have a "store brand" which is usually quite affordable, despite being made by one of the big manufacturers.