Skip to content
How often to use Le...

Notifications
Clear all

How often to use Lemon Oil on the Fretboard?

36 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
11.3 K Views
(@vampirekiller)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm pretty new to guitar maintenance, so I wondered how often is healthy for the fretboard.

Psychedelic Violence ~ X ~ Crime of Visual Shock

(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Depends on how often you change the strings. Usually Once a month or every other month has worked for me.

Some guys change strings after every performance, others once a week, whilst others like me, once a month? Then there are those that wait wayyyy too long to change their strings.

Frequency really depends on how often you play and/or when your strings go... well "OUT". If you don't know what that means or sounds like, change your strings, and take note of how NEW strings sound.... then over a few weeks of playing you'll slowly hear them go out. Me I don't like that NEW String sound I like them go set In a little bit.

I use this stuff called "Guitar Honey". Red stuff in a little squirt bottle. It doesn't take much and I start wiping as soon as I start spraying. I use it with every string change with the strings completely off my guitar(s) and I give them a good wipe down/polish. But I only use the Honey/lemon Oil on the fingerboard(s) never on the finish of the guitar.

So the Short Answer....?? (Once a month). But I play a lot, not a ton but a lot.

Hope that helps.

Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing. - Wernher Von Braun (1912-1977)

ReplyQuote
(@artlutherie)
Noble Member

I oil whenever the board looks dry. Incidently I use olive oil so I don't have to worry about it decomposing the fretboard.

Chuck Norris invented Kentucky Fried Chicken's famous secret recipe, with eleven herbs and spices. But nobody ever mentions the twelfth ingredient: Fear!
ChuckNorrisFactsdotCom

ReplyQuote
(@u2bono269)
Noble Member

i use lemon oil and i do it, at most, twice a year.