Clear all

Just a few questions

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@fretted-fingers)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hello everyone. I would like to first Introduce myself and thank anyone who takes the time to read this enormous post.
My name is Jim, and I've been playing the guitar on and off for going on 15 years now.
I play both the electric and acoustic guitar, and looking forward to trying my hand at classical guitar someday. All that aside though, I'm going to go ahead and get to the questions.

In my many years of playing, I have never taken the time thoroughly clean any of my guitars, or do anything special to protect them. To be completely honest, I've only started playing seriously in the past year. Once again, onto the questions.

I'm having problems with tuning on two of my guitars.
On my acoustic, when tuned perfectly, the guitar sounds just fine up to the 4th fret. Beyond that, the 1st-3rd strings go ever so slightly flat and continue to become more flat with each higher fret. To my ear, a 12th fret high E sounds slightly more than a half step flat.
The problem is lessened on the 2nd and 3rd strings and is virtually nonexistant on the 4th string and beyond.
Based on my research, this is not the product of a bowed neck (I'm not very educated in that area either though) but possibly either the intonation or a twisted neck. Feel free to prove me wrong. :)
I would just like to know if there is any hope of repairing this, or if I should just replace the guitar? I only paid $125 for the guitar, so it is not a big loss if I do have to result to replacement. Like anyone else though, I would like to find a solution (if possible) to the problem before jumping the gun and buying a new guitar altogether.

The problem I have with my electric guitar is practically the exact opposite for the most part.