Clear all

Lost Nut for a Fender Acoustic Guitar

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@guitargirl05)
Topic starter  

Hello all,

While I was away for the weekend, my little boy decided to fill my Fender acoustic 12-string full of earrings. Trying to help, my husband unstrung the guitar and got all the earrings out (no big deal, I know how to re-string it) but in the process managed to lose the nut. I took it to a local repair shop and was told I'd have to pay $50 for a custom new one. But I see many on ebay or guitar sites for around $10-$15? I've been playing for a few years, but the most repair work I've done is changing strings. Do the nuts come in many different sizes for different guitar models, so it would be unlikely to get the correct size, or is it pretty universal? Is it worth it to order a nut and try to fix it up myself, or should I swallow the $50 and let the repair guy do it for me? Thanks for your help!

(@davidhodge)

$50 seems more than a bit steep for something that's not really all that "custom" at all. You can get them at Amazon for less than $10 (not including shipping) - just do a Google search for "nut for 12 string acoustic guitar" or search directly on Amazon with "12 string acoustic guitar nut."

They do tend to be fairly common in terms of size. You can check with the specs at the Fender site to be sure.

Hope this helps. And welcome to Guitar Noise. Hope to be seeing you around here at the Forums.

ReplyQuote
(@zincberg)
Eminent Member

just a side note...
Although you should be able to find a nut that fits "close enough" fairly cheaply, you WILL most likely have an issue with the height of the strings with a standard nut.
I agree that $50 seems excessive... unless the shop was offering you a custom bone or graph tech type nut.

ReplyQuote
(@guitargirl05)
Topic starter