Lowering Action - Yamaha APX-7A

9 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@amnesia)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi there...
I've only just signed up to the boards, and I'm already asking for "help"! I hope you don't mind :)

Anyway, I've my Yamaha APX-7A since I started playing, about 2 years ago. It's still my favourite guitar (even though it's not the best). It has a beautiful rich tone to it... not as deep as the Taylor, but it's a sort of unique, acoustic/rock sound. Really nice!

Anyway, It's got an unusually high action to it. Pretty high that barre chords can sound "dudd" if not hit perfect etc.

However, I feel this has helped progress my playing (as the Sheraton and Taylor 514 are sooo easy to play) anyway... I am looking to get the action lowered.

I've had a look at the truss rod and it is a little stiff... Infact - it doesn't move at all and no alan key fits it... is this because I need a certain Yamaha tool?

Another option I could take is to get the bridge shaved?
Which would you suggest?

Thanks

//--Amnesia--

Gutiars: Sheraton II | Yamaha APX-7A | Taylor 510CE-LTD
Equipment: Hiwatt 40 Amp | Switch Pedal | Zoom 200 FX Pedal
Piano: Roland 236

Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

You do need to make sure the relief is OK before you lower the bridge so get the truss rod tool worked out. Lowering the bridge takes a little shaving of the saddle to bring it down As a matter of fact twice the amount you want to bring the action down at the 12th. Check out the setup steps on my site and see if that helps.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff
DMusic Samples

ReplyQuote
(@amnesia)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Well my Dad adjusted his truss rod (he also has a Taylor) and didn't need to shave the bridge. He used a standard alan key.
I'll check out your site, I'm hoping I can just adjust the truss rod to get it lowered enough to suit my playing.