Clear all

Need Assistance, General Troubles

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@spitz)
Topic starter  

Hey all,

I have a Masterbilt DR 500 MCE. It's a great guitar, but I've been having a few issues lately. On the high frets, the following was occuring: I'd fret the D-string at, say, the 13th fret and get a D#. Then I'd fret the same string at the 14th fret and get...a D#. This was happening to varying degrees on all my strings. I loosened the truss rod quite a bit, but to no avail. I was still getting the same problem. So, I restringed. Unfortunately, my G string snapped fresh out of the box, but I went ahead and finished off with the other strings. So, now my guitar has five strings and I still have the same stupid problem I started with, and even a ridiculously high action doesn't solve anything. Extremely upset, to say the least.

I'm currently living in South Korea at the moment, so my options seem pretty limited. Is there anything I can do?

(@elecsluther)
Eminent Member

Let me see if I'm getting what you're saying--because the 13th fret on the D string should be a D sharp--but their is no change when you go to the 14th fret--don't see how that would be possible, as if you are getting a D sharp on the 13th string-then that is correct, and if you go higher by one fret, don't see how it would be sounding the same. The 12th fret should be the same note as the open string (higher octave of course, but same note).

ReplyQuote
(@spitz)
Topic starter  

Well, it's happening. 2 different frets are producing the same note. They're dead, I suppose. And it's in the same area on the fretboard across all my strings. 12-14

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

I have to agree with elecluther. I don't see how the 13th fret can be correct - either the open string is tuned to C# or the intonation is way off. I can't see any other way that the 14th can also give D#-

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.