Clear all

Ok, another fret problem

14 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@terminator)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Some of u guys might remember my problems with the frets on my electric,(if u dont see my post called fret problem) and my dad found the answer for it. Because the dents are on the frets 18 &19, and my axe has 22 frets, my dad wants to filedown the frets from fret 18 to fret 22(so thell be on the same level.). He thinks that this is the solution. I dont agree. My solution is to go and refret 18th& 19 fret in some guitar workshop. Coming back to my dads solution, i think that there will be lots of problems. Is my dads solution a good one?(this question is for u PRO guys out there). Any advice is apreciated.

"No pain No gain!"- The Scorpions

(@lord_ariez)
Reputable Member

I'm not a pro, but I do know that getting profesional help from a shop is the way to go.... Getting a guitar refretted is not that expensive and you wont end up hurting the fretboard....

Also, the frets arent suposed to be flat, they have to have a rounded shaped to get the best sound. When you file them down they will be flat and may sound bad....

Take it to the shop dude!

'You and I in a little toy shop, bought a bag of balloons with the money we got"

feel free to talk with me on msn at [email protected]..... no icq anymore

ReplyQuote
(@terminator)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

The thing is, that my dad doesn't want to get a refret, beceuse he thinks that they wont refret those 2 frets with the same wire. He thinks that theyll change the sound.

ReplyQuote
(@dayzd)
Estimable Member

Like a professional is gonna do something like that...I'm sure you'll have less problems taking it into a shop than filing the things flat and possibly slipping the file and shaving a piece of the neck off...

Anything that is too stupid to be spoken is sung

-----------------------

<--=-.._DayZd_..-=-->

ReplyQuote
(@evilspudboy)
Trusted Member