Skip to content
Problem with changi...

Notifications
Clear all

Problem with changing the strings on my Acoustic Guitar.

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@medarrah)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

This is my first time changing the strings on my acoustic guitar.

The pins keep coming out of the bridge while I tighten the strings.
Please tell me what Im doing wrong!
Heres what I'm doing: I Take all the strings off, and I start with the thickest string and stick the end into the whole, about a half inch. Then, as I push the pin in, I'm pulling the string up a little bit. Now, I start to tighten it. (I keep my finger on the pin while I'm doing this, by the way.) Once I let go of the pin, it pops out. :(

I dont get it. Please help!
Thanks.

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Common problem for first timers. The ball-ends of the strings are NOT supposed to be held down by the bridge pins. For a properly installed string, the ball-end sits just inside the guitar and off to the side of the bridge hole, "jammed" against the top of the guitar and SIDE of the bridge pin.

(Image from guitarimports.com)

Before pushing a string's ball-end through the bridge hole, bend the last 20 mm into a slight "hook" shape; then insert the string and "hook" it toward the sound hole. Insert the pin and pull the string to seat it. If it pulls out the pin, give the hook a bit more curve and try again.

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@medarrah)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks.
Ill try that as soon as I get home. :)
Another quick question: With the way that I did it originally, it made a really weird buzzing noise on the first 4 frets and 4 thickest strings. That would also be because of the way I did it, right? So the buzz will go away when I do this correctly?

ReplyQuote
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Possibly -- but I doubt it, unless you couldn't bring the strings up to full tension because they are not fully anchored.

Other reasons: