Clear all

single coil noise

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@cantankerousd)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I recently purchased an axe with one humbucker and two single coils.
with an odd number of coils running, i.e. 1,3. I get lots of noise.
I have tried to isolate the noise-that is, through an amp-through my pocket pod-through my zoom pedal, and it invariably is coming through the guitar. (an esp) what kind of pups might eliminate this noise?(without sacrificing the peircing highs I am getting from single coils) is the Boss noise suppressor a viable option?

You don't have to firebomb dresden to prove you can fly a plane.-Warren Zevon

(@ph0nage)
Reputable Member

a noise suppressor would probably do the trick. I have an ISP Decimator that I love and use it w/ the neck pickup of my strat. What zoom pedal do you have? I used to have one that had built-in noise suppression (although it was the highest model) I can't vouch for the BOSS NS pedal though as I have no experience

ReplyQuote
(@cantankerousd)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I've got the zoom g2.1x and it does have a nr setting. I just haven't played with it enough to get it dialed in.
Looks like I've got some experimenting to do!

You don't have to firebomb dresden to prove you can fly a plane.-Warren Zevon

ReplyQuote
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

I recently purchased an axe with one humbucker and two single coils.
with an odd number of coils running, i.e. 1,3. I get lots of noise.

Single coil pickups (and odd numbers of coils) have noise. You can reduce it with shielding - see Guitar Nuts
what kind of pups might eliminate this noise?(without sacrificing the peircing highs noise suppressor a viable option?

There are humbuckers that make single coil sounds. One of these is the Seymour Duncan Duckbuckers. There are also low noise true single coil pickups like the Lace Sensors.

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

ReplyQuote
(@sin-city-sid)
Prominent Member