Notifications
Clear all

Tailpiece Problem on Epiphone SG

15 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@richardmonette)
Topic starter  

Ive got an Epiphone SG that has been playing perfectly for about a year now. Usually I change the strings as they break or get very old so I have kind of a mixed bag of strings on the guitar at any given time. (I know this is bad practice but I am a student with little money, even for strings) Recently, I noticed that the two posts that go straight into the body of the guitar which hold the stop bar for the tailpiece are beginning to pull out of the body of the guitar at an angle. On one side I would say its out at 2mm or about an 1/16" and on the other side its just a very tiny gap.

Question: Is this something that is going to get worse over time? What needs to be done to fix it?

Thanks very much

Rick

EDIT: Ive added a photo so you guys can see the problem. The photo is of the bad side.

(@demoetc)
Noble Member

It really shouldn't do that no matter what sort of strings you have. It almost looks as though, if you were to take the strings and the tail piece off - and leave just the bolt in there - you could rock the whole thing back and forth and remove it, doesn't it?

The first thing I'd do is to see if the stud is loose enough to do that. If it comes out, you might be able to put a small amount of epoxy or wood glue in the hole and then tap the stud back in with a padded hammer or something else that's covered with cloth or felt that won't marr the finish of the stud.

Let it dry a day or two and then put the tailpiece back on and string it up.

If the stud(s) aren't loose enough to easily pull out, you might just tap them back in till they're flat to the body again.

Perhaps a guitar repair person will answer and give you better advice, but for now, that's all I can come up with.

Best regards.

ReplyQuote
(@richardmonette)
Topic starter