Thinking about building from scratch?

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@teleplayer324)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Check out this site http://www.guitarbuildingtemplates.com/

Immature? Of course I'm immature Einstein, I'm 50 and in a Rock and ROll band.

New Band site http://www.myspace.com/guidedbymonkeys

(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Very Cool Tele.

As a matter of fact I have been. Ever since I started playing guitar I've been completely obsessed with all aspects of our guitar world, from learning how to play to learning about all the gear and what different things do and sound like from guitar types to amps to effects etc. I've also sought out local venues where they host open mics and I have to say to my surprise there's some great, great talent here in my own city.. (as I'm sure there are most everywhere). Most of the music I've found I wouldn't normally buy off the shelf, but it is quality folk and blues I've found so far.

I started looking around online for info about the different tone/exotic woods and they're properties and to my delight I've found many sources right here and CLOSE to my home in Oregon. Then I searched local builders (Luthiers) and WOW! There quite a few of those, not only in Oregon, but in Washington state too, so I got bold and emailed a few and asked how they got started in their beautiful guitar making craft. Did they apprentice with anyone? Did they go to a school? One of the fellows, whom I really like his work said he started with a kit. He mentioned a few books that are essential and some catalogs (ie StewMac) to order and get a feel for some of the hand tools etc.

So needless to say I've been trying to design, (only in my head thus far), hows I could set up a little shop in my garage and how the required tools would fit in there, Currently I'm set up to service my motorcycles and park my vehicle in there out of the rain.