Clear all

Volume pot seems to have gone ka-pot

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@pilot)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I haven't played my electric much since I bought the acoustic, but when I picked it up today I noticed it sounded a bit quiet. Yes, it was plugged in. :P After fiddling with the amp controls and whatnot, I discovered that the volume control on the guitar itself only seems to work at about the last (highest volume side) quarter-turn or so, and it doesn't reach the volume that it used to, even with the amp turned up to 11.

As I've noted before, I'm an electrician by trade...but I've never messed around with guitar guts before. Mine is a Yamaha Pacifica (012, I believe) with an S-S-H configuration, one volume and one tone knob, and the ever-present 5 way switch.

I guess my big question is, where does one look for replacement parts like this? I realize I'll have to tear it down anyway to see what the value of the pot is, but after that, I'm assuming I don't just want to hit Radio Shack and see if they have something that fits.

Any bright ideas for a dim fella? :)

Taso
(@taso)
Famed Member

ur assuming that the knob just isnt catching onto the control anymore to turn it enough?

if that is the case, the company probably sells them seperatly i presume.

http://taso.dmusic.com/music/

ReplyQuote
(@lederhoden)
Trusted Member

There is often a resistor (anywhere between 250k and 1meg - humbuckers come down lower to around 25 or 50 Ohm, I believe).
Get that value and that of the pot and replace both - you would have to look to see if the pot is log or linear.
Whilst you're at it you could consider an upgrade to the tone control. Buy a TBX control (costs around $12). Instead of having a tone control that, usually, just removes bass from the signal, the TBX consists of two pots in one. Zero is in the "5" position - turning one way removes treble and turning the other removes bass. The result is a much clearer tone control.

ReplyQuote
(@davec)
Trusted Member