Clear all

Apache

11 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@jase36)
Reputable Member
Topic starter

I'm attempting a cover of the classic 1960 hit Apache by The Shadows. I still consider myself a novice so it is far from perfect and there is plenty for me to work on. I wanted to get something down so I can come back to this at a later date and see if I can play it properly. I was born 7 years after this was recorded and always thought The Shadows were pretty lame, how wrong I was! When I started learning guitar all I wanted to play was Ramones and old Punk rock songs and I would have laughed if you told me I would be learning Shadows tunes, but these days I seem to be listening to a lot of Shadows and Ventures music.

Any feedback welcomed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zrl04ZRBocQ

http://www.youtube.com/user/jase67electric

Posted : 03/08/2010 6:37 pm
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

First things first - you need to use the trem to get the "shimmer" on your sound. It only needs the smallest amount.

You'll two things from it. 1) Because you're playing near the neck, you get a more rounded sound. 2) You'll get used to floating your hand over the strings.

The other thing is to relax and enjoy it.

Oh, and watch your PMs

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.
Did you know that the word "gullible" is not in any dictionary?
Greybeard's Pages
My Articles & Reviews on GN

Posted : 04/08/2010 3:54 pm
(@jase36)
Reputable Member
Topic starter

Greybeard thanks for taking the time to watch and post.
First things first - you need to use the trem to get the "shimmer" on your sound. It only needs the smallest amount.