Beginner's videos

1,082 Posts
81 Users
0 Likes
270.6 K Views
(@jase36)
Reputable Member

Isabelle

Well done and I think your voice is much better than you think.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jase67electric

Posted : 28/03/2009 9:24 pm
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Strings, well I don't even know what weight I want to use and I'm too frugal to try a set and swap them off without trying to play em to death. I have a set of lights .012 to .053, on now, I'd like to try a lighter set and a heavier set and then maybe try a couple different brands. Any suggestions on weights/brands for acoustic?

This is maybe the third - or is it the fourth? - time I've answered a similar topic tonight. So here goes again.....

Use the lightest strings you feel comfortable with. I've been playing guitar for over thirty years now - and I'd recommend 9s for any beginner. Of course, that's just MY opinion - others may say use the HEAVIEST strings you're comfortable with, it'll build your wrist strength up. But I say - why make things harder for yourself in the beginning? It's hard enough learning those first few chords - when you move on to chords like Bm or F or Bb, you're going to need aome sterngth to hold those barres down.

OK, it's not ALL in your finger strength - but I truly believe a lot of people new to guitar who REALLY want to play are put off for one of two reasons; one, the parents buy the first guitar - they haven't a clue what they're buying, and get something totally inappropriate for the genre of music the kids want to play. A classical (nylon strung) guitar is usually a nice surprise for someone's birthday - except it isn't, because there's zero rock'n'roll in it. and two, the strings are too heavy - I think new guitarists need light strings. 9's, maybe 10's if you've got strong fingers.