20 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member
Topic starter

Hi all,

Some weeks ago, I asked in the Bass Players Forum for the advantages of a bass for a guitar player (really an apprentice of guitar player). The answers were all very positive so I started the search for a bass. After several visits to the music stores I bought a Squier Jazz Bass on Friday.

The initial idea was to upload some soundclips. I started playing some riffs and arpeggios this afternoon using several pickups combinations. The test recording was evolving and it finished as something similar to a cover with something similar to an improvisation in the middle. It has a lot of mistakes. I should improve my technique and also fix some parts before posting it but as I said I'd want to upload the soundclips as soon as possible.

This is the link to the recording: http://soundclick.com/share?songid=6834289

As usual, all kind of comments and advices and are welcome. I will be working on it the next days.

Thanks in advance. And sorry for the mistakes! :oops:

Posted : 24/08/2008 8:52 pm
(@rahul)
Famed Member

Stand by me !!! :D

Nice mix. And your bass playing is good. Keep practicing.

Posted : 24/08/2008 9:30 pm
 KR2
(@kr2)
Famed Member

Mistakes?
Sounds good to me.
A favorite of mine. Ben E. King
Used in a lot of movies to bring back that 1960's era.
Written for the Drifters. They turned it down.
He recorded because he finished a recording session early and had time to spare.

It's the rock that gives the stream its music . . . and the stream that gives the rock its roll.

Posted : 24/08/2008 9:39 pm
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member
Topic starter

Thanks guys! :D

I play a couple of incorrect notes in the first part of the improvisation. Really I don't know what notes I was playing but when I picked the guitar for recording the strumming part they didn't sound well. I had to record the guitar first and then the lead track but as I said it was a test.

Posted : 24/08/2008 10:02 pm
(@dogbite)