Clear all

Down By The River - Neil Young "cover"

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter

I've strayed away from my cowboy strumming ways for a little while. New technical capabilities here in the home "studio" opened up a whole new world of guitar for me. A lot of firsts this week. My first recorded lead, my first multi-track recording and my first ability to record straight into the system without use of a mic.

I am TOTALLY new to any sort of lead, and due to the ear issues, can't even hear what I've done (except for as low as I can make the amp go) until playback. What we hear in the recording is not what I hear while recording. I get to hear a very low and muffled version of what gets output to the PC. In short, it's like turning on some rock & roll at low volume. You can hear and tell the lead guitar tone. It's a tone I was not able to get out of my amp at very low volumes. Gotta like it! Beats the heck out of not being able to do it at all.

So anyhow, lots of firsts here for me. Some of it works, some of it doesn't. Lemme know what you think works, and what doesn't.....although lots of the things that don't work are quite obvious. I am so new at this lead stuff. I did both the rhythm and lead tracks through my GT-10. Both tracks are second takes. Even with low volumes, I'm at about all I can handle for the afternoon.

"Down By The River" written by Neil Young and made to sound horrible by yours truly. http://soundclick.com/share?songid=7873086

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

Posted : 24/07/2009 6:24 pm
 Celt
(@celt)
Famed Member

Not Bad Roy,

Your timing seemed a bit off at first but that seemed to clear up
by the end. Nice tone and some very appropriate Nielish licks.

Keep On Rockin'

:note1: :note1: :note1:

John