Walk Away, Jumpin Jack Flash, You Really Got Me, andMr. Soul

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
 xg5a
(@xg5a)
Honorable Member
Topic starter

Hey everyone, I have some new recordings that I made over Christmas Break while the band I was formerly in had all of its members back in town.
I was especially curious about what you guys think of the recording. I'm a student at a local University which happens to have a pretty cool music department. I was lucky enough to get a job as the recording engineer for all of the concerts. The catch is that what i'm recording is chamber ensembles, string orchestras, and jazz ensembles. They also have much better recording mics than I have. So it was very interesting, yet challenging to try to apply my techniques to a rock band. I was for the most part pleased with the result, but I was curious what others would think.

The tracks are uploaded on the band's myspace, http://www.myspace.com/spade00 . I'm not really a supporter of myspace, but hopefully everyone will be able to listen. The new songs are Jumping Jack Flash, You Really Got Me, Walk Away, and Mr. Soul.

Thanks for taking a listen!

Posted : 28/12/2007 7:21 pm
(@elpantalla)
Honorable Member

Nice job!

I'm not familiar with any of those new ones except for Jumpin' Jack Flash and You Really Got Me. Your voice really suited those songs really well, your voice does remind me a bit of Mick Jagger.

Keep it up. Nice guitar playing too!

What's your setup?

One chord is fine.
Two you're pushing it.
Three and you're into jazz.

Posted : 28/12/2007 8:24 pm
 Celt
(@celt)
Famed Member

Man,You Guys Are Good :!:

Your set list looks like something we might have play in 1972 .
(yes I'm that old}

The recordings sound great and you really nailed the Joe Walsh tone on Walk Away.

My SoundClick Page

Collaborations

" It's easier than waiting around to die" Townes Van Zandt

Posted : 28/12/2007 10:28 pm
(@hueseph)
Noble Member