Notifications
Clear all

Better Mix

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@seanc3)
Topic starter  

Alright , so I have been recording for a long time and I'm all self taught and I've come a long way , but I'm really looking to try to get a better LOUDER mix and a bigger overall sound of all the instruments. I'm using Cubase 5 to record ,guitar rig 5 for guitar and bass, and Superior Drummer for drums. I usually Record 3 rhythm tracks and pan them left, right, and center and EQ the guitars and bass then EQ the whole mix to try to get it louder.

Here's a link to a song I've recently recorded.

http://soundcloud.com/seanc33/southern-song-5

If anyone has any suggestions for anything they hear in the mix that could be better please let me know. Tear it apart! anything from Drums to guitar tone to overall mix. I'd appreciate any input I can get!

Thanks

(@jwmartin)
Noble Member

I think your drums need a little more low end kick to them. Until the bass kicked in, there was no low end.

Bass player for Undercover

ReplyQuote
(@seanc3)
Topic starter  

I think your drums need a little more low end kick to them. Until the bass kicked in, there was no low end.

You have any suggestions on how to do that or any presets?

ReplyQuote
(@danlasley)
Noble Member

I moved this to In The Studio, as that is where we've been discussing mix-down techniques.

For louder and leveling, you're going to need compression...

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member

I moved this to In The Studio, as that is where we've been discussing mix-down techniques.

For louder and leveling, you're going to need compression...

I'm gonna quote my FB buddy Tim Gilles (a.k.a. Slipperman), who I've had some entertaining and VERY educational chats with, in regards to compression and brick wall limiting.

"If everything's loud, nothing's loudER."