Clear all

Delay delay delay delay

10 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Well i recieved a new laptop from work in exchange for my old one which i broke :(
i got very excited about doing some recording and set up my sophisticated home studio (okay - i just opened audacity)

however, for some reason there is a delay of about 1.5s between me playing a notes and it comming out of the speakers. this is going to make recording impossible when i come to put some guitar over an already existing track.

im not doing anything different than before, but has anybody encountered this before??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@big-lar)
Estimable Member

Sounds like the audio driver is not an ASIO low latency driver. See if the sound card maker offers an ASIO driver.

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks - but can i ask what an ASIO driver is please?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."

ReplyQuote
(@falcon1)
Reputable Member

ASIO is just a driver with a very low overhead, which reduces the delay. You can download it here: http://asio4all.com/

If you need help setting it up, feel free to ask! :)

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

thanks for the link, that is brilliant!!! ill get it downloaded and try it tomorrow.

many thanks again!!

ReplyQuote
(@kalle_in_sweden)
Prominent Member

Sorry to say , but Audacity does not support ASIO2 drivers
And 1.5 s delay is far , far above any delay from a sound driver.
What is the delay (input to output in PC) when you use windows standard sound controls.
Normally, you should not have any delay problem until you start to record your instrument to an already recorded track (recording your playing to a backing track).
/Kalle