Do I need a mixer?

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@kblake)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

G'day Guys,
I am starting to get a (small) collection here...
I am pretty sure I am going to buy an Alesis SR16 Drum Machine.
So I will have ...
Guitar and Drum Machine into V-Amp 2 into Computer...
Am I getting into the territory the territory of needing a mixer to record to the pc? :?:
I remember the folks here a while ago recommending Behringer Xenyx Mixers are they still the ones to get?
I really don't know what I am doing re recording . :?
Thanks
Keith

I know a little bit about a lot of things, but not a lot about anything...
Looking for people to jam with in Sydney Oz.......

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Keith

I am pretty new to recording, and I do not use the computer at all (Zoom HD8), so I don't know if there are programs that work like a mixer. But the advantage to a mixer is that you have control over the mix (the volume of each individual channel), plus you can EQ each channel seperately. So absolutely a good thing. Plus, many mixers also provide many various effects. There may be online programs that do this, I don't know.

Have you looked at the Zoom RT223?

Zoom RT223

This is very similar to the drum/bass machine built into my HD8. You can build a "song pattern" by selecting from hundreds of built-in drum patterns. You can build your drum pattern step by step (I really have not done much of this, it's tedious), or you can build a song with a "fast method" method (which I do use a lot). I prefer the fast method myself, I can build a good drum pattern in just a few minutes. But the Zoom also offers bass. I just plug one of my guitars in and select one of the many bass tones. So you can play your own bass with your guitar. But you can also build a bass line with the step by step or fast methods that are used for the drums, they work exactly the same way.