Clear all

Double tracks for FX?

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@trguitar)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

A thing I read in an Audacity tutorial, that I just tried with Reaper, is to copy your dry track, add a very wet signal to the copy of what ever effect you are using and use the fader on the FX track to adjust the level of effect. That way you can play with the intensity of the effect real time like I would back in the analog days. I pan the dry and wet signals left and right some to add some depth. I use this with reverbs and delays. It seems to work well. Thoughts? Comments? I didn't try, can you adjust the FX levels while the track is playing in Reaper? Maybe this ins't necessary in Reaper. I'm a Reaper noob. In either case it was neat to be adjusting FX on individual tracks as the whole song played.

OK, so I checked and I can do real time adjustments in Reaper. Nice feature. So ...... Probably don't need to double the tracks then except for the stereo image thing. Is it worth doing?

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

(@alangreen)

Yes, there's a lot to be said for keeping an extra track of the dry signal. I did read somewhere a few years back of a big name producer who insisted on being sent an extra copy of the dry guitar track so he could play around with re-amping and stuff like that.

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

There's a faint, dry guitar signal that comes in with my Eleven Rack if I want it. I never seem to do it, but I should Ya never know, right?