Clear all

fostex vf160 basic tutorial?

6 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@austinman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I just ordered and am awaiting delivery of a fostex vf 160. I've down loaded the manual off the web and discovered, as have countless others, that it's difficult to follow because of English/Japanese translation issues. I've tried without much success to find a website offering a simple tutorial for this machine. Can anyone help?

(@forrok_star)
Noble Member

Is this the manual you have. Fostex.com. If you scroll down you'll find vf.160 manual. It seems pretty straight forword.

Joe

ReplyQuote
(@austinman)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Yes, that's the manual I down loaded--all 158 pages! I'm an old English instructor, but I still don't understand this on page 32:

" Warning! In DIRECT Recording, all channel faders are basically "TRK". If there is channel in which the "IN (Input)" (RED: Flashing), press the (CH STATUS/SEL) key of that channel so it is a "TRK"

It's like grading bad essays from my foreign students. I know that given time and patience I could plow through and decode this. I'm not stupid. I'm just trying to save LOTS of work by finding a better written, easier to understand tutorial. I'd rather spend the time actually recording.

ReplyQuote
(@lee-n)
Estimable Member

Without reading the manual I couldn't say exactly but it's probably something to do with routing. Each channel can be routed to various parts of the mixer. By engaging direct record all the inputs are routed to wherever TRK takes them, I'd guess that engaging direct record would globaly switch all inputs to TRK but still leave the choice of being able to re-route them individually to Input or whatever. The warning is probably just a precaution to watch out for that otherwise when you hit record you might end up with an audio signal going somewhere you don't want it or vice versa.