Hey! I need some help with setup for home guitar recording

12 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@alkemist)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello players,

I currently have a 100 dollar fender electric and a 300 dollar yamaha acoustic guitar. I have a home built computer with a 3.5 p4 processor, waiting for a fine sound card. I am a beginner guitar player who want to make multiple track recordings at home on a computer.

I am currently reading up about different guitar setups. I will have to purchase a transducer for my acoustic guitar. I am thinking of first purchasing a soundhole pickup, and later on, possibly a dynamic external mic.

What I am concerned the most is what PREAMP, AMP AND SOUND CARD I need for high quality recording. I have Ibanez electric amp, which will probably be useless to the computer setup. I would like a PREAM with 2 inputs, buffer, gain control, equalization at least, but have no idea which one I need or what to buy. Also, since I qill be recording on the computer, do I really need an amp for acoustic guitar recording?, or could electrfyied signal from pream go directly to computer's input? What soundcard is best for recording?

What about the POD? Connecting the guitar to the processor and then via USB port to computer?

I really do not know what to start with.

Help is greately appreciated. Any info needed from me for an answer will be provided/

Thank you.

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

First off Welcome to GN Alkemist,
i would suggest audacity, http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
and or Kristal, http://www.kreatives.org/kristal/ both are free and easy to use.
as far as sound cards go i have a m-audio audiophile 2496 that i like a lot,
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Audiophile2496-main.html
and any of the cheaper behringer mixers at or above the UB 802 have preamps and phantom power
http://www.behringer.com/UB802/index.cfm?lang=ENG

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@kalle_in_sweden)
Prominent Member

I agree With Twisted Lefty