I Cant Record With My Zoom G2.1u using Cubase LE

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
11.8 K Views
(@vivian)
Topic starter  

Hello my name is Vivian

I am very new with this, but I am trying to record on cubase, I have a guitar plugged into the pedal and im using headphones connected to the pedal output, Im connecting the pedal to my computers USB port. But when I play on cubase it does not detect any sound, Ive gone into Device setup, clicked VST multitrack, clicked "ASIO multimedia driver" (ASIO driver), and it only shows: "ASIO multimedia driver", and "ASIO DirectX full duplex driver" as my options. I have no idea what to do, im using a laptop (MSI 10342). I just would like to record some music. Can anyone please help me?

(@bloos66)
Reputable Member

Hi Vivian,
one possibility I can think of straight away is that you may have to change the laptop's audio settings - I assume you are using Windows (XP - don't know Vista). Go into the Settings - Control Panel, select 'Sounds and Audio Devices', then the 'Audio' tab.

Have a look at Sound Playback and Recording settings, they should point to the external USB device and not the internal soundcard of your laptop.

Hope that helps, I haven't used the Zoom nor Cubase, but from my experience with similar tools/applications, this is very often the cause of your problems.

Good luck, and if you have more problems, please let us know.

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member

The Cubase manual can be a bit confusing at times. . .

Look for an ASIO driver containing "ZOOM" or "USB" or "G2.1u" or even all of the previous phrases somewhere under the VST Multimedia tab. It may not be under "ASIO Multimedia." Check out all the options.

Playing guitar and never playing for others is like studying medicine and never working in a clinic.

Moondawgs on Reverbnation

ReplyQuote
(@huricane)
Eminent Member