Clear all

Instrumental rockmetal mixing

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@simonhome-co-uk)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Hey. So I've been writing for many years now and I've always recorded my songs, but I've never actually learned to mix, so I've never really produced what might pass for a high quality demo, merely a record or "sketch" of what I've written.
Now that I've got some software that's up to the task (Reaper as my DAW, Amplitube for guitar, Cakewalk Bass and Addictive Drums) I've started looking at mixing.

But I've run up against a few problems...

Despite the large volume of material on the subject online, I've actually found the web to be a fairly poor resource. You see a massive, seemingly comprehensive guide to mixing on one site, then you look elsewhere and find it actually left out some crucially important techniques, because it assumed you knew certain things, and so on, for every site you go to.

The other problem is that most of these guides are focused on chart music such as pop and hip-hop. I did find a resource talking about getting a good modern high-gain rhythm guitar track, by using the Haas effect, but that's as far as it went.

So does anyone know if there's a comprehensive beginners guide to mixing (and maybe mastering) that's good for people who write music in the vein of Satriani and Buckethead, on the heavier, more metal side of intrumental rock? What I've found by far the hardest thing to get right is the EQ and making the tracks compliment each other with it. I would happily pay for a book if it was that comprehsive and that focused on my genre and with a good section on EQ. Though bear in mind I live in the UK...

Thanks.

(@moonrider)
Noble Member

Slipperman's Recording Distorted Guitars Thread

Slipperman is Tim Gilles, the Owner/Operator/Engineer of Big Blue Meenie Recording Studios.

He specializes in "brewtal" guitar. This is one of the best, and most hilarious, guides to getting heavy guitar sounds I've found out there.