Skip to content
Newbie - Basic Drum...

Notifications
Clear all

Newbie - Basic Drum Loop software or hardware?

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@timba33)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hi,

Total newbie here. I really hate working with a metronome, and would like to practice my guitar strumming, and basic songs to a nice drum beat instead. I have checked out the Toneport, V-Amp, Line 6 PoD, etc online, but am getting confused as to what is really needed. The Toneport, Pod, V-amps sound cool, and the virtual amp modeling looks really neat, and would be nice for some bluesy tones. I need something cheap and easy to create some simple beats to play along with. And when I say easy to use, I mean something a newbie with absolutely no experience with recording software or terminology. Something where I could just add a bass drum beat, a snare, maybe a cymbal, and tweak the BPM rate to make it work with the timing of a song I play along with. I'm talking basic songs, Brown Eyed Girl, Peaceful Easy Feeling, Classic rock, Eagles, Blues 12 bar progressions, etc.

I have downloaded Audacity, and Hammerhead. Hammerhead is a bit techno for me, but seems easy to use.

Can you create drum beats/loops with Audicity? or is it just a mixing application?

Is there another free program for making basic beats that isn't as techno as Hammerhead?

I'm can spend $100-$150 on hardware if need be, and all I need at this point is the software or hardware to get me going.

Can some kind soul set me in the right direction with a basic setup, and or steps?

Hook me up !!!

Thanks,

Tim

(@hueseph)
Noble Member

I use Acid Music Studio and Beta Monkey Loops. Check out http://betamonkeymusic.com As far as software is concerned you could download and use Acid Express for free and legally. Put your loops together and export them to wav then you can import them to whatever DAW you are using.

I have to say though that I'm looking forward to buying EZ drumer and various expansions.