Skip to content
Starting a professi...

Notifications
Clear all

Starting a professional recording studio...am I crazy?

8 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@chalkoutline)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Ok, here is the business plan in a nutshell.

Find a large building. Preferably an older masonry structure with lots of mass to get a leg up on the soundproofing issues.

Subdivide the building into recording studio along with various sized soundproofed rooms that could be leased by the month/day/week, etc. to local or touring bands as rehearsal space.

Locate it so it is close to the musical center of town (that being downtown in this case).

I know that there are already 2-3 recording studios in town. I will need to do some market research to see if a town my size can support another one.

There is a lot more to it than that. Getting a proper studio design (I am an architect with some acoustic design experience, so I think I can hook that up), hook up with some quality recording engineers, etc.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Tell me im crazy? LOL

Interview guy: What is the source of your feedback?
Neil Young: Volume.

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

It's certainly doable, if you have the cash to invest in it. The question is how much is your heart in it? A business like this is probably going to hinge on how much you put into it.

Have you checked out the forum gearslutz.com ? There are a lot of experienced guys over there, many of whom have done what you're planning, so you'll no doubt get a lot of help. I'd also recommend the forums (and articles) at soundonsound.com - there' a even a section in their forums on building a studio from scratch. I recall SoS did an article on designing a studio around 12 months ago too, very informative on creating floating floors, and soundproofing doors and windows and the like. The forums are packed with useful info on this too.