Clear all

USB Audio Interface w/ multiple inputs

11 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I'm looking into getting a audio interface for my computer. Here's my list of requirements

1. Portable - I'll be using it with my laptop in multiple locations
2. I want to be able to record 2 guitars at once
3. I also want to have mic input. I would want to be able to record all 3 channels (2 guitars & mic) at the same time (preferably able to be separated on the software side)
4. Less than $200 - am I crazy?

I found this

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/MobilePreUSB-main.html

and it sounds like it matches all my requirements, but I just want to make sure it will record the different inputs on separate channels. I have no experience with this stuff, so I want to seek out more knowledgeable advice before I spend the money.

I have 2 intended uses for this, am I even looking at the right things? One would just be to record my practice/jamming sessions by myself. If it was just that, I could buy the basic single input models. But I want the 2nd guitar and mic input because my son and I jam together, or we go to my grandfather's and all 3 jam and I would love to pick up the talking/chatter that goes on during this. Kind of a memento thing. I guess down the road I may want to actually use it to record full songs, but that's not really on the plate right now. Speaking of that, has anybody used these to record drums? Acoustic drums, not electronic. My son also plays drums and it would be nice to be able to record that. Could I just use a mic or two to pick it up? I know I would have to move him from the garage to a more acoustic-friendly area.

Sorry for the long message and multiple questions!

Thanks!

Bass player for Undercover

(@slejhamer)
Famed Member

I am pretty sure the MobilePre
(1) is portable ;)
(2) can record two guitars at once - assuming a mono signal from each one
(3) has two mic inputs, with phantom power.