Clear all

Amp crackling and popping

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
37 K Views
(@snufdacrimedog)
Topic starter  

Ok I have a Fender Frontman 212 DSP. The amp for the most part sounds pretty good, but on occasion I get these popping/crackling noises the that occur what I consider pretty randomly. The sound really doesn't degrade tone, and for the most part the it sounds pretty clean. I am playing a Fender MIM Telecaster through it(if anybody is curious). I am a college student and I share a duplex with three other dudes, and the crackling and popping seems to have started to occur sense moving into the house. When at my parents house this never seems to be an issue, and for the most part it's flawless. When I was living on campus I would get similar problems with my small 15w line six amp, except the popping seemed louder and more pronounced on the line six. As I said I have flipped/flopped amps sense moving into a bigger place, and the amp that never seemed to give me problems has started making irregular popping sounds, and alternatively the line six, which is now at my parents house, seems have stop making these popping noises all together. I have also noticed, that somtimes the popping become more prevelant and occur more often if an appliance like a fan or my laptop is on. Is it possible that the area that I'm living in nows electricity is affecting the amp differently(please don't hate, I don't know much about the electronic aspects of amps)?

(@steve-0)
Noble Member

Do you always use the same patch cord to hook up the guitar to the amp? If you have another cord try using it and seeing if the problem is the cord and not the amp.

If you have another guitar (or a buddy who's got another guitar), try seeing if that noise occurs with it.

How long has this noise been occuring on this amp? On my Epi Valve Jr. I had heard a popping noise that would occur randomly for a couple of days: it turns out that the tube was dying and within a few days the amp was silent.