Clear all

Bad Interference / Noise in Amp!

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@eastcoast)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I'm a guitar beginner with a new small amp (Peavy Vypyr). The amp worked fine at the music store. BUT!-- When I plug in an instrument cable at home, there's a major loud pulsing tone / noise / hum that comes out of the speaker (even if no instrument is connected).

I live in an area that I think has some pretty strong continuous radio transmitters and I suspect I may be hearing Rf interference from that.

Does anyone have any suggestions for troubleshooting? My instrument cables are OK, but not the highest quality. Maybe there is a strongly Rf-shielded cable I could try? Thanks.

(@kent_eh)
Noble Member

It's not necessarily your amp.
All amps will buzz/hum when there is nothing plugged in. Or more correctly, if a cable is plugged in to the amp, but there is no instrument on the end of the cable.

When you plug in your guitar, and turn the guitar's volume knob down to zero, is the noise still there?

What kind of guitar do you have? What kind of pickups does it have?

I wrapped a newspaper ’round my head
So I looked like I was deep

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Yes, try the amp in different outlets around the house. Certain appliances like refridgerators and air conditioners can cause sounds like this, even a TV. My TV used to cause hum in my amp, I would turn the TV off and the hum would immediately go away. Flourescent lights especially cause noise and hum on guitar amps. You may find simply using a different outlet will eliminate the noise.

There's all sorts of things that can cause noise in amps, one day I was practicing and heard the Police talking through my amp. I looked out the window just as a Police cruiser was passing by. :D

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@markii)
Eminent Member