Clear all

blown tube?

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

we played a christmas fair at the school i teach at today, and half way through the set i realised (or i saw) one of my tubes in my valveking 212 was not lit up.. i assume this means it is dead. but i still got sound??

A) is one blown tube bad?
B) if i just run through my pod 2.0 into the effectsa return am i right that this bypasses the tubes and just goes straight to the speaker??
c) is there any dangher/possible damagbe to my amp doing this until i get another tube.

finally, do i need a tube that matches the others, i am aware there are different types??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@ricochet)
Illustrious Member

If the amp was still playing and sounding OK, I doubt you have a dead tube. Which tube was it, one of the two big 6L6s, or one of the little 12AX7s? It's common not to be able to see the glowing cathodes in a 12AX7.

If a tube's simply dead, you can't hurt the amp running it that way. The only tube failures that will hurt an amp involve excessive current flowing, as when air gets in a power tube. The tipoff is the bright red glow from the normally gray plate.

Before you notice it and ask, a blue glow on the inside of the glass is a normal, healthy thing with power tubes.

The effects return will bypass some of the little "preamp" tubes, but still goes through the power stage of the amp.

There is no need to match any "preamp" tube, nor is there any biasing necessary.