Skip to content
how to get a distor...

Notifications
Clear all

how to get a distorted guitar to cut through the mix??

24 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
19.3 K Views
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

Im not sure what i am doing wrong - although im sure it is a lot. :D

when we soundcheck i always make sure the volume of my distortion is the same as the volume of my clean guitar. to get a volume boost for lead i switch pickups.

however, when we begin to play i can hear my guitar well when it is clean, but when i apply distortion it is totally drowned out by drums, keyboard etc.

i have no idea why, as I know i set it as the same volume as my clean sound??

what can i do to get the distortion to cut through the rest of the instruments??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member

Could be a couple of things. You might be using too much gain. Super distortion sounds great by itself, but in a band situation is simply sounds like air escaping from a flat tire, or tearing paper. That may sound dumb, but that's exactly what too much distortion sounds like. So try coming down on the gain. The pros do not use nearly the gain that you might think.

It is also very probable you have the EQ on the pedal set wrong. Everybody loves the "scooped Mids" tone where you boost the Lows and Highs and cut the Mids. This also sounds great when playing alone, but again will get completely lost in a band situation. Boost your Mids. I keep my Mids up to almost max in a band situation. Mids is the guitar tone, it is the center. Cut your Mids and nobody will hear you.

Here is a very helpful video, this guy knows what he is talking about, I would listen to him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TQanVdQPAMg

If you know something better than Rock and Roll, I'd like to hear it - Jerry Lee Lewis

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member