Notifications
Clear all

More of an AMP related question.

7 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@clancyw)
Topic starter  

I recently purchased a used Carvin V3 amp from guitar center. When I bought it, it had the stock el34's but one of them was blown. The staff changed them out for 6l6's since it was all they had and the amp has a fixed bias switch. My question is if i need to have the amp re-biased for new tubes? i thought "fixed bias" ment you just put the tubes in and forget about it, but i was looking on carvin forums and read people saying they had to get there's bias and stuff.

Im new to tube amplification so i've got alot of confusion.haha

(@moonrider)
Noble Member

I recently purchased a used Carvin V3 amp from guitar center. When I bought it, it had the stock el34's but one of them was blown. The staff changed them out for 6l6's since it was all they had and the amp has a fixed bias switch. My question is if i need to have the amp re-biased for new tubes? i thought "fixed bias" ment you just put the tubes in and forget about it, but i was looking on carvin forums and read people saying they had to get there's bias and stuff.

Im new to tube amplification so i've got alot of confusion.haha

You should have the bias checked and adjusted if it needs it.

From Aiken Amplification:
"There are two main types of biasing: fixed biasing and cathode biasing. Fixed biasing does not mean the bias is not adjustable, in fact, it usually means the opposite. Cathode biasing is usually fixed, and not adjustable, and fixed biasing is usually adjustable with a small trimmer potentiometer, or "trimpot". It is no wonder the subject is confusing to people!