Clear all

Playing in the band

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@marcmm)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Ok, i'm not sure if this topic has been covered yet, so i thought i'd ask u people some questions about that..

I've been playing in bands for a couple of years now. The problem appears, when we're playing songs that end with fadeout. It's really hard to fade out live, but sometimes u can slow the tempo gradually. So, i'd like u to share your experience about that.. Who pulls it back? guitar? Drums? I know that this feel comes spontaneously with time, but, is there any way to practice it?

(@alangreen)

Slowing down at the end is normal.

Give a cue to the drums - a single long chord on beat 1 held for the whole bar allows your drummer time to take the tempo down a touch/ perform an ornamented drum roll round the whole kit and so on and come to rest in the tonic chord with the lead player doing some form of cadenza. A single beat chord on beat 1 to finish.

Obviously, how you get there is another matter. You're best off extending the end sequence by repeating the chorus or outro chord patterns; don't write and new material for this bit.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@moonrider)
Noble Member

The problem appears, when we're playing songs that end with fadeout. It's really hard to fade out live, but sometimes u can slow the tempo gradually. So, i'd like u to share your experience about that.. Who pulls it back? guitar? Drums? I know that this feel comes spontaneously with time, but, is there any way to practice it?

First, a fadeout on the recording usually means the band couldn't figure out an ending, blew the ending, or the tracks couldn't be edited to simulate the players ending together.