Clear all

Snake question

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@blutic1)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I just got a new mixer and a snake. The snake has xlr inputs for all the mixer's channels plus it has 8 returns. I'm new to PA setup so I have a few questions. My mixer has xlr out puts for the left and right mains, so I'm assuming I hook up two of the returns to them and patch the other side to the inputs of my main speakers' power amp. I have two monitor outs on the board so I'm assuming I run them to the return and patch the other end to the monitors' power amp. Sound right?

Basically, what I'm trying to do is set up a PA consisting of 4 monitors, 2 mains, a mixer, monitor power amp, main power amp, and locate the mixer at the back of the club and the power amps on stage. Sound like I'm on the right track?

(@leear)
Honorable Member

sounds like you've got it..... if you use any external Eq's or anything always run from board to EQ then out of EQ to amps. Other than that you've got the idea.

No matter where you go.... There You are! Law of Location

ReplyQuote
(@danlasley)
Noble Member

It is unlikely that the snake has the XLRs in the proper gender to use as returns. However, the 1/4" connections are probably stereo, so you can use an XLR to stereo adapter for this.
Alternately, use the 1/4" outputs from the mixer/EQ and don't worry about it. There are almost no noise issues with line-level (output) signals.

ReplyQuote
(@adrock)

I just got a new mixer and a snake. The snake has xlr inputs for all the mixer's channels plus it has 8 returns. I'm new to PA setup so I have a few questions. My mixer has xlr out puts for the left and right mains, so I'm assuming I hook up two of the returns to them and patch the other side to the inputs of my main speakers' power amp. I have two monitor outs on the board so I'm assuming I run them to the return and patch the other end to the monitors' power amp. Sound right?