When buying a PA system

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@barbiesteel)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hello there!,

I sing with a hard rock band and i have to buy a PA system with microphones and all. Since i am new to sound equipment, i do not know much even of what i need. I am thinking about buying a Yamaha Emx 312s powermixer OR a Behringer PMP-2000 combined with 12" Fame speakers. Would that be good enough for a hard rock or a heavy metal band?

Thank you all.

(@diceman)
Reputable Member

Yes and no . Probably no . One heavy metal guitar amp cranked up to 11 is capable of drowning out a thousand watt per channel PA system . IF some restraint is possible in the guitarist's volume (and the drummer's) you might get away with it but if you play really loudly at rehearsal it isn't enough .

If I claim to be a wise man , it surely means that I don't know .

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

I agree with Dice if you are a loud band it's probably not enough. we play classic rock and we play fairly loud and the Berhinger I have which i beleive is rated at 800 W can't keep up when we crank it.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

And guitars and drums can go louder for a given room without feedback problems than a PA system can.

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@barbiesteel)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the answers,

Since my budget is limited (500-800 euro max.), i don't think i can afford all pieces for separate (amplifliers, equalizers, etc.)
As i read Scott's Pa systems tutorial.

I saw a bundle pack where the power mixer, speakers and microphone where included and i thought i could solve my problem.