Notifications
Clear all

a re-beginner here, hi all.

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@onkeltuka)
Topic starter

I´m just about to turn 37 in a couple of weeks. I realized it´s almost 15 years since I sold all my guitar gear, and haven´t played since. I had a beautiful Les Paul Standard and a burgundy SG, don´t ever sell your guitars , it´s really stupid and you will regret it. Anyways, back then, I played for something like 12 or 13 years, was in quite a few bands, played some gigs,etc. I remember feeling, at times, that hell, "I really can play some."

But it´s strange how skills fade in 15 years. A friend left his acoustic Martin at my place recently, and I noticed that my fingers didn´t remember what they were supposed to do anymore. But I did like the feeling the sound of this very nice guitar gave me. So I started thinking maybe it´s not too late to learn this stuff again? But this time I would do it for myself, back in the days it was always with the thought of "making it" (as I guess every young guitarist does). I even ordered "the modern method for guitar"- books, as I used to study them back then.

My first problem is that having kids and a mortgage and all that, I really don´t see how I could summon the money for buying a new guitar. I tried some cheaper acoustic ones, but when you have played quality instruments it really feels bad having to settle with an inferior instrument. I´ll probably loan some old guitar from this same friend of mine, to get some time to think about the funding for my own instrument.

Anyways, I thought that it would be a good idea to seek a community of guitarists, and this one seemed like the best one. I hope I´ll get to know you all.

Posted : 03/08/2013 1:45 pm
(@planetluvver)
Eminent Member

Hi ! I am a re-beginner too. Except for the fact I have never emerged from beginner status.

Hope you have an instrument to play soon.

Posted : 03/08/2013 10:09 pm
(@s1120)
Prominent Member

Welcome to GN!