Notifications
Clear all

Back at it again

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@matt_e)
Topic starter

Hi, my name is Matt and I am finally playing again.

So let me explain that.....

I started playing guitar 13 years ago, in High School. I started out on a classical guitar, and moved up to a Squier Strat with a lil' practice amp.
Over the next few years after that, I also acquired a Washburn 12-string acoustic, an Ibanez Art Star Archtop, and a medium sized practice amp.
After getting married, having a kid or two, a full-time job, school, etc...I sold ALL the guitars and all gear and stopped playing.
:(

Just about a year ago, a friend gave me a Yamaha acoustic she wasn't using at all. I picked it up and started playing again - sparingly. (In Church, mostly)
A few months ago, I picked up a cheap Banjo - which I have since replaced with a Deering Good Time - and am loving it.
I committed to playing more guitar (with my father-in-law).
Last week I ended up buying a Jay Turser JT-142 Archtop (with Bigsby), and a practice Amp for a mere $300, and am in love again!
Found this website and have been playing at least two hours every night for a week now.
I am on fire about playing once again. So much so that I Have not even practiced Banjo for a week now. :lol:
My practice is more structured now, which seems to be beneficial. I am moving away from just looking up tabs and learning to play the lead-ins for some songs, and moving toward actually learning some theory, std. notation, and full songs.

Thanks for this great forum - it played a big part in the last few days in keeping me entertained and excited.

Posted : 06/03/2008 9:47 pm
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

That happened to me too, Matt - got married, had kids, sold guitars....with hindsight I'd have kept the guitars. Good to know that you're back playing, and more importantly, enjoying it - that's what it's all about!

Recidivism is a GOOD thing in the world of guitars.....

:D :D :D

Vic