Notifications
Clear all

Bought one, now to learn...

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@daveallyn)
Topic starter

found an old epiphone at a garage sale. new strings, head had been busted off at one point and glued back on, but the neck was still all one piece, and they did an okay job with the glue. Figured for $20 (us$) it wasn't a bad deal, so went for it.

Now I need to learn to play, and I can tell already that this site is going to be great. Almost too much info. I've started looking through the beginner songs, and some of the beginner lessons. Everything seems to reference prior lessons. Can anyone recommend a good starting point?

Posted : 29/09/2009 4:59 am
(@alangreen)

Welcome to the party. This is probably the best place on the Internet to learn.

Obviously, it depends on what floats your boat, but anything by David Hodge is a great starting point; I've heard him teach absolute beginners at his house and he gets them playing from day one.

Looking at the lessons here, "Horse With No Name" is a great starting point for songs. "Theory Without Tears" gets you off on the right foot with understanding why some things work and some don't. "If Only I Had (Another) Brain" is a fun-filled how-to on singing and playing at the same time. "Well, I Woke up This Morning" will start you off on fingerstyle blues.

We're loaded up with private and school guitar teachers as well as those guitarists just starting out and all points in between, we have a music school owner on the forum membership, and any number of us play semi-pro.

Get stuck in and enjoy yourself.

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

Posted : 29/09/2009 8:42 am
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member